The Green Prescription

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/wellbeing/health-advice/do-you-need-a-green-prescription/

IMG_4123.jpg

I hope the link above still works, it is rather old in the news of the world timeline now. I read it in my grandma’s paper she hands onto us for the chicken houses and I was very pleased to see that someone else had discovered the benefits of being 1) outdoors when you are unhappy/stressed/depressed/insomniac/anything horrid, and 2) how gardening can strangely benefit your mental health when you are feeling blue.

As someone who was introduced to gardening in a rather bleak part of her life, I really believe in this cure. Any problems I have, any doubts are (unfortunately not completely cured, it is still not the Disney magic we all need) washed away or quelled. I do not know what it is but gardening and being outside really can lift the spirits and make someone feel top of the world.

IMG_3429.jpg

I have read before about how the soil contains bacterium that boosts serotonin levels, the hormone responsible for regulating our mood. Humans have been aware of the healing values of gardening for a long time. Court physicians in ancient Egypt prescribed garden walks for the mentally unwell. Roman satirist Juvenal exhorted us to ‘live as a lover of the hoe and master of the vegetable patch’. Gardening was used as therapy for war veterans with post-traumatic stress disorder. As it is Mental Health Awareness Week, it is probably a good time to post this on my documenting/gardening blog. It might help someone.

So if you are very feeling low, try stepping outside and taking in a deep breath of fresh air. It really can clear your lungs and head. If you are ever feeling angry or stressed or like hitting someone or shouting and screaming, go and pick up a spade or fork and (do not attack someone) start digging in the dirt. If you are crying, weed a flower bed. If you don’t feel like eating, grow and tend your own nourishment and watch in fascination as it becomes a huge being from a tiny seed, all for you. If you can’t sleep, take a long walk or bike ride somewhere green or dig until your legs can’t hold you up anymore.

This is the green prescription and a way of life that we all probably need.

IMG_3600.jpg

Published by

thekitchengardenblog

20 year old who lives in the South East of England. Family owns pets: dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, kune kune pigs (not for eating) and bees (that we never get any honey from). I am vegetarian because I have never liked the taste or texture of meat but my family do eat it so I will be including meat recipes on this blog. I work in our vegetable garden alongside my mum. Our dream is to be self-sufficient. I hope that this blog inspires, informs and is found interesting for any readers. I will be discussing anything to do with gardening, growing, working on the land and food, including recipes as I go along. Please feel free to ask any questions relating to the blog.

2 thoughts on “The Green Prescription”

Leave a Reply

