Update: Sunday 4th Sept 2016

IMG_3650.JPG
Bumble bee on an Echinacea flower

Has anyone picked so many runner-beans this year that they’ve had to buy a new freezer?!

Nope, just me… ? Hmm, was afraid of that.

This week we’ve been:

  • Weeding, mulching
  • Mum has frozen a tonne of beans again
  • Picking blackberries and raspberries and plums – freezing them too
  • I made ‘courgette crisps’ because we have so many marrows still hanging around the house. You cut the courgettes very thinly, toss them in 1tbsp olive oil and a pinch of salt, place them on a lined baking tray and scatter 1tbsp grated cheese and 1tbsp breadcrumbs over the top and leave them in an oven of 110C until they have turned brown and crisp (about 2-3hrs) before leaving them in the oven to cool to room temperature before eating them on their own or with some dips. I think mum is the only one to eat them so far but she said they were really good and she has eaten one whole tray full so they can’t be that bad…
  • Our bulb order arrived yesterday that mum bought on behalf of my birthday so I played clearing a patch for them under the apple trees that is swamped by nettles and invasion trees galore. I scythed the tall nettles first and cut down the unwanted bad trees before starting to dig out the roots of everything. I tossed all of the weeds, grass and nettles into the pig run for them to munch on and turn into compost. I might finally get that patch cleared and the bulbs planted in, say, a years time…
  • I also cleared away a whole patch of sweetcorn that had been picked and chucked those to the pigs. They really like the stems! I’ve prepared the bed for some lettuce and rocket I have growing indoors that are nearly ready to plant out, probably this week.
  • We do have a pesky fox digging up parts of the beds at the moment. I thought it was just the cats getting a little too confident at first but now that I’ve found some fox poo, I know who I am dealing with. Unfortunately, there is little I can do to prevent a fox from digging for bugs in the beds. I can only net over the little seedlings to give them a chance of survival, I suppose.
  • Excitingly, we had another order of manure delivered from our friends with the Guernsey cows, another huge load by tractor. We had managed to use all of ours that only arrived in like March. Perfect timing as the whole place needs desperate feeding and bed preparing.
  • Even better: we got seven new hens (all ginger ex-battery types) on Bank Holiday Monday. We were lacking in eggs seeing as the ducks are moulting, Clucky, my little white hen is broody and only one other Black Rock chicken is laying – that meant one  egg every few days. Now we’ll get a few more – the  eggs are so tiny because they are so young!

Have a good week, everyone.

Published by

thekitchengardenblog

20 year old who lives in the South East of England. Family owns pets: dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, kune kune pigs (not for eating) and bees (that we never get any honey from). I am vegetarian because I have never liked the taste or texture of meat but my family do eat it so I will be including meat recipes on this blog. I work in our vegetable garden alongside my mum. Our dream is to be self-sufficient. I hope that this blog inspires, informs and is found interesting for any readers. I will be discussing anything to do with gardening, growing, working on the land and food, including recipes as I go along. Please feel free to ask any questions relating to the blog.

Leave a Reply

