Weekly Update: Saturday 13th August 2016

Been a little busy so I have not done everything I needed/wanted to do in the garden this week but I still saw it every day.

  • Did some weeding and hoeing for a path.
  • Picked runner beans, courgettes, green gages, lettuce, cucumbers, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, tomatoes.
  • Currently weeding a parsley bed at the moment.
  • Weeded and fed and mulched the tree cabbage.
  • Completed mulching the celery and celeriac, building up the earth around them.
  • Started tackling the beetroot patch.
  • Almost done with weeding the space near the beehives – but one has to pick the right moments to attempt that task.

Weather looks lovely if slightly hot. Lots of watering needed!

I turned 21 yesterday and  was given 4 lovely David Austin roses – white, yellow, pink and red and they smell divine. My favourite red rose already in the garden also opened for my birthday, specially! I was also given a scythe and bill-hook. This will be fun, my brother has asked me to warn everyone in  advance when I am practicing with it in the garden so that they can beware…

Happy gardening.

IMG_3443.JPG
Birthday cake my lovely mum made me. It may not have a lot to do with gardening but it has pretty flowers on it… 
IMG_3447.jpg
Flowers picked from the garden
IMG_3451.JPG
Green and Black’s Sachertorte
Published by

thekitchengardenblog

20 year old who lives in the South East of England. Family owns pets: dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, kune kune pigs (not for eating) and bees (that we never get any honey from). I am vegetarian because I have never liked the taste or texture of meat but my family do eat it so I will be including meat recipes on this blog. I work in our vegetable garden alongside my mum. Our dream is to be self-sufficient. I hope that this blog inspires, informs and is found interesting for any readers. I will be discussing anything to do with gardening, growing, working on the land and food, including recipes as I go along. Please feel free to ask any questions relating to the blog.

Leave a Reply

