Weekly Update: Friday 5th August 2016

First week of August.

  • Lots of weeding, feeding and mulching beds, including: brussels sprouts, brukale, quinoa, amaranth, celery and celeriac.
  • Sowing seeds: lettuce, spinach, radishes, spring onions, parsley, coriander, last of the peas (indoors and outdoors, fingers crossed they germinate), rocket.
  • Covering up exposed potatoes with manure where the blight has killed off the plants above ground.

Harvested first green-gage plums. That is exciting – it means nearly plum jam time, my favourite!

Harvested lots of courgettes. Or marrows. Every time I turn away, one grows to the size of, well, a giant marrow from ‘Wallace and Gromit Curse of the Were Rabbit’. Picking lots of: cucumbers, blueberries, first new batch of raspberries starting to grow, boysenberries, tayberries, potatoes (they are so beautiful), runner beans, kale, perpetual spinach, swiss chard, radishes, carrots, lettuce, tomatoes, finally got some PROPER sized spring onions to grow (my ones last year were a dismal, this year they actually have bulbs on the end of them), huge onions, lots of garlic, chives and parsley. I just made a cheese pizza using homegrown onion and garlic, topped with perpetual spinach leaf beet, kale and swiss chard served alongside homegrown salad followed by chocolate cake, pouring yoghurt, blueberries and raspberries. Yum.

Have a good weekend, I hope the sun shines on everyone.

Published by

thekitchengardenblog

20 year old who lives in the South East of England. Family owns pets: dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, kune kune pigs (not for eating) and bees (that we never get any honey from). I am vegetarian because I have never liked the taste or texture of meat but my family do eat it so I will be including meat recipes on this blog. I work in our vegetable garden alongside my mum. Our dream is to be self-sufficient. I hope that this blog inspires, informs and is found interesting for any readers. I will be discussing anything to do with gardening, growing, working on the land and food, including recipes as I go along. Please feel free to ask any questions relating to the blog.

Leave a Reply

