Weekly Update: Saturday 30th July 2016

Nearly the end of July – where did this month go?

Straight back to work this week:

  • Weeding quinoa and amaranth patches.
  • Weeding old trenches and feeding them before sowing seeds: radishes, coriander, parsley, spring onions, lettuce, rocket, spinach and ‘Alderman’ peas.
  • Weeding and feeding sweetcorn.
  • Netting an apple tree that the birds are partial to. They knicked every single one last year. It was time for some netting.
  • Picking redcurrants, jostaberries, last of the blackcurrants and raspberries for now, last couple of strawberries, blueberries, last morello cherries.
  • Clearing up bolted lettuce for chickens and ducks.
  • Digging up two blight potato plants worth of harvest for boiled and mashed potatoes.
  • Harvesting lots of very big courgettes, last broad beans, baby runner beans, carrots, cabbage, kale, cucumbers, lettuce, broccoli, cauliflower, peas, giant and beautiful onions, garlic and tomatoes.

 

Published by

thekitchengardenblog

South East of England. Family owns pets: dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, kune kune pigs (not for eating) and bees (that we never get any honey from). I am vegetarian because I have never liked the taste or texture of meat but my family do eat it so I will be including meat recipes on this blog. I work in our vegetable garden alongside my mum. Our dream is to be self-sufficient. I hope that this blog inspires, informs and is found interesting for any readers. I will be discussing anything to do with gardening, growing, working on the land and food, including recipes as I go along. Please feel free to ask any questions relating to the blog.

Leave a comment