Update: 28th July 2016

IMG_3109.JPG
Echinacea 

Made it back from our holiday abroad earlier this week. The one year we go abroad for a week and England decides to have a mini-heat wave, of coarse.

I am pleased to inform that the garden and animals all survived.

Before we left I was tearing my hair out over the sudden confirmation that our potatoes had blight but I came back to find some greenery still there, they were not all a sad bunch of brown twigs.

We have come back to the end of the first raspberry harvest, strawberries and most of the blackcurrants are gone too but there are still plenty to pick – too much to pick! Blueberries are taking off, jostaberries are still there, reducurrants, plums are getting juicy, I just picked the last of the morello cherries, we had a supper full of homegrown veg last night – potatoes, courgettes, runner beans, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, kale, onion, garlic, parsley, chives, tomatoes. The only things not homegrown were the butter, cheese and cream – and the cookies for pudding but I did make those at least and served them with the last few strawberries and blackberries growing in our greenhouse.

I also tried some of my watercress (it finally grew after all this time) the other day and I was pleased to say, it tasted of watercress – result!

Lots to do, I’ve started weeding and feeding old beds that are finished to plant my last glut of certain seeds before the end of July. I got in radishes, parsley, coriander, spring onions and the last carrot sowings yesterday. I am tackling spinach, rocket, lettuce and Alderman peas today.

I am currently writing a post on blackcurrants – it might be a little late but better late than never when it comes to blackcurrants.

Happy digging to all.

This is a photograph of the potatoes mum dug up yesterday. It is a whole bucketful – from ONE potato plant that was even blighted. I think it might be a second early variety. Fingers crossed the rest of the blighted ones do just as well…

IMG_3123.JPG
All from one blighted potato plant
IMG_3101.JPG
Lupin is flowering along with the white cosmos (background)
IMG_3070.JPG
Pretty pink sweet pea trailing up a blackcurrant bush
Published by

thekitchengardenblog

20 year old who lives in the South East of England. Family owns pets: dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, kune kune pigs (not for eating) and bees (that we never get any honey from). I am vegetarian because I have never liked the taste or texture of meat but my family do eat it so I will be including meat recipes on this blog. I work in our vegetable garden alongside my mum. Our dream is to be self-sufficient. I hope that this blog inspires, informs and is found interesting for any readers. I will be discussing anything to do with gardening, growing, working on the land and food, including recipes as I go along. Please feel free to ask any questions relating to the blog.

Leave a Reply

