Weekly update -21st May 2016

I haven’t been entirely up to date with posting on this site. My excuse is that I am having some trouble with my laptop, it is blocking this website (as well as Wikipedia and Facebook, I do not know why but it has chosen those few) so it makes posting difficult.

Well, this week in the garden I managed to get some jobs done…

  • I weeded a cabbage patch, fed and mulched it as well as gave it a new netting to protect the vegetables from those pesky cabbage whites. They are savoy cabbages and are looking lovely and green and a couple are growing to a good, big size.
  • I netted my other cabbage trench that are planted with brussels sprouts and brukale (brussels sprout crossed with kale, will be interesting). Still need to weed and feed them…
  • I weeded, fed and mulched my tree cabbages (purchase from Real Seeds). These are looking pretty good and I can’t wait to harvest them. You pick off the leaves and use them like kale, apparently.
  • I planted out all of the celery, celeriac and leeks into the same long trench (leeks are apparently good companions plants for these crops). I’ve popped a fleece over the top of them to protect them from the wind which is quite  gusty at the moment and is drying everything out too quickly.
  • I planted out half of the sweetcorn, probably a little to recklessly after looking at the forecasted 7C next Tuesday night. I ran out of space in my block (they require 30cm apart from each other) so I need to make a new bed  for the remaining nine plants. I will try and start that today in the rain.
  • I potted on two aubergines from indoors and moved them inside  the greenhouse – finally, first vegetables inside the greenhouse! I also moved another strawberry inside there – useful hint, pot a couple of strawberries inside your greenhouse during the winter months and then they will fruit earlier and the birds might not get to the berries before you do.
  • We have been harvesting lots of lettuce, spinach, the last of my first sowing of radishes (tasted a little woody by now,  they were sown in February), rocket, purple sprouting broccoli, green sprouting broccoli, kale, parsley, coriander and some oriental vegetables, bok wong chinese cabbage (Real Seeds Company, again), komatsuna, mustard (a dominant weed in out patch which we really should eat more of but are too fussy) and it might have been mibuna or mispoona?
  • My fellow gardening partner, my mum, has been busy with her bees all week, feeding them and trying to prevent a swarm from taking off but she still managed to fit in some gardening jobs: weeding carrots and starting the shallots (horribly intricate jobs), planting out spring onions and nearly a whole seed tray of lettuces (again, very tricky and stressful with those little roots), potting on the sickly cucumbers and starting on the tomatoes.
  • We still have a lot to plant out from indoors which is the main priority despite the unstable weather for May. We will also be up to our necks in weeds if we don’t try and do some of that at any opportunity.

Happy gardening this week. I will be sharing some posts on salad next week with recipes, starting with lettuce, I think.

Published by

thekitchengardenblog

20 year old who lives in the South East of England. Family owns pets: dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, kune kune pigs (not for eating) and bees (that we never get any honey from). I am vegetarian because I have never liked the taste or texture of meat but my family do eat it so I will be including meat recipes on this blog. I work in our vegetable garden alongside my mum. Our dream is to be self-sufficient. I hope that this blog inspires, informs and is found interesting for any readers. I will be discussing anything to do with gardening, growing, working on the land and food, including recipes as I go along. Please feel free to ask any questions relating to the blog.

Leave a Reply

